DLP Salisbury (31)The Dominica Labour Party (DLP)  is seemingly nearing to victory at the 2009 polls, as reflected by the preliminary results.

The candidates which have put the DLP in the lead are Justina Charles – Grandbay, Matthew Walter – Paix Bouche, Johnson Drigo – Castle Bruce, Ivor Stephenson – Morne Jaune/Riviere, Ashton Graneau – Salybia, Reginald Austrie – Cottage and Gloria Shillingford – Wesley constituencies. Meanwhile the main Opposition United Workers Party has retained its La Plaine, Marigot and Salisbury seats with Ron Green, Edison James and Hector “Spags” John respectively contesting those seats.

The other parties contesting tonight’s General Elections are the Dominica Freedom Party, the Dominica Progressive Party, the People’s Democratic Party and a number of independent candidates.

The Portsmouth constituency has been retained by the DLP with Ian Douglas collecting a total of 1247 votes beating the DFP candidate Murphy Wallace who scored 91 votes, and Errol Hill- 61. Albert-18, Julian Brewster of the People’s Democratic Movement got 18 votes.

More to come.