Members of the national cricket team

Members of the national cricket team

The Dominica senior national cricket team will leave the island today to represent the country in the Windward Islands Cricket Tournament in Grenada.

Dominica has not won the senior tournament for over ten years and Captain Liam Sebastien is confident that the team will bring the trophy home this time.

Kershaski Jno-lewis is the only new comer to the team which includes experienced players, Tyrone Theophille, Ray Casmir, Vivian Titre, Mervin Matthew, Kevin James and Liam Sebastien.

Kavem Hodge is expected to join the team later, from Barbados, where he is now studying at the University of the West Indies.

Notable absentees from the team are Shane Shillingford, who is representing the West Indies Cricket team, and Vincent Lewis.

The tournament begins on Thursday and will be played over the next two weeks.

It will entail a 20-20 competition and a two day competition.