Some of the athletes awarded by the club

The Pioneers AC, a progressive nonprofit organization is celebrating 20 years of existence in Dominica. The aim of the club is to create athletic opportunities and quality training programmes for all members.

The club was started in December, 1996 by returning Olympian Cedric Harris who also completed his undergraduate studies in USA at this time. Others involved in the formation of the club were Robert Guiste and Marcus Blundell.

The club’s motto is “Faster, Higher, and Longer.”


* To enhance public awareness of the importance of athletics as a sport.
* To create a sense of hope, build self-confidence, and develop athletic talent.
* To emphasize the need to exercise regularly in pursuit of a healthy lifestyle, and to foster a sporting culture in the community.
* To join the fight against childhood obesity
* To provide an alternative that will help curb the involvement of children in gang violence.
* To provide the young people, especially the most vulnerable, with opportunities to participate in athletics according to their aspirations–from leisure to elite, track and field to road races.
* To enhance the values and image of athletics and promote the Olympic virtues and true sportsmanship
* To emphasize the social responsibility of athletics as a sport by promoting the values and image of Athletics.

An activity was held last Saturday and athletes who excelled in 2015-2016 were recognized. Sponsors to the club’s various activities throughout the 20 existence were also recognized.

Male and female athlete of the year of the club went to:

* Mr. Derick St. Jean-Sponsored by Lindo mart
* Miss. Kellandie Bully- Sponsored by Marva & Benji Harris(USA)

Most Outstanding under 18 female and male

* Shanelle Nichols- Sponsored by Bonnel Henderson(USVI)
* Beres Francis- Sponsored by Bonnel Henderson(USVI)

Most outstanding under 15 female and male

* Keva Pierre-Sponsored by Bonnel Henderson(USVI)
* Nayab Alexander- Sponsored by Bonnel Henderson(USVI)

Most improved distance runner female and male

* Fannie Gregoire-Sponsored by Dr. Sophia & Irving Harney(USA)
* Jabez Ferrira-Sponsored by Dr. Sophia & Irving Harney(USA)

Most outstanding Sprinter female and male

* Jada Scotland-Sponsored by Judy Joseph(Canada)
* Beres Francis-Sponsored by Judy Joseph(Canada)

Best overall distance runner female and male

* Keva Pierre-Sponsored by Dr. Sophia & Irving Harney(USA)
* Camran Carbon-Sponsored by Dr. Sophia & Irving Harney(USA)

Best Jumper male and female

* Kenroy Volney
* Shanelle Nichols

Most dedicated female and male

* Elvisha Durand-Sponsored by Arthur & Cynthia Robin(USA)
* Rick Timothy-Sponsored by Arthur & Cynthia Robin(USA)

Most improved under 18 girls and boys

* Jada Scotland
* Giftus Charter

Most improved under 15 female & male

* N’Dalia Laudat
* Dewanie-deedee Laudat

Most improved under 13 female and male

* Claudine Harris
* Nayab Alexander

Most dedicated new member male and female

* Kitwanna Theophille
* Giftus Charter

Youngest members

*Junior Jeanjacques
*Kaidi Rolle

A special thank you to all those who have assisted in one way or another during the years.

They are:

Jeffery “Choco” Timothy
Dr. Damien Dublin Dental Clinic
Niki Beauty Saloon
Pegs Beauty Shop
Sabi Beauty Saloon
Reuben’s Bakery
Josephine Gabriel & Co. LTD
Lindo Mart
HHV Whitchurch Shipping
Felix Gregoire
Dr. Sophia and Husband Irving Harney
Bonnel Henderson