12 to contest in Kalinago Council elections to be held next week

Chief Lorenzo Sanford won by a close margin over Anette Thomas- Sanford (left). He now awaits the new Kalinago Council

A new Kalinago Chief was recently elected and is now preparing to implement his development plans for the Territory but he will need the support of a Kalinago Council to do so.

The Kalinago Territory Act of the Commonwealth of Dominica makes provision for the election of such Council, which, according to the Act, will be responsible for the administration of the Territory.

Twelve people have been nominated to contest in the Kalinago Council elections which will be held next week..

Out of the twelve nominated, six persons with the highest number of votes will be elected as Councillors, the Chief being the 7th person. The law makes provision for the Kalinago Chief to be installed as Chairman of the Council at the first meeting of the new Council.

Recently, the elections for Kalinago chief were held and twenty– two year old Lorenzo Sanford emerged winner.

The persons nominated are as follows: Christabel Auguiste (Clerk) from Bataca, Reny Auguiste (Self Employed) from Crayfish River, Alexander Burton (Retired Teacher) from Salybia, Lindo Frederick (Labourer) from Salybia, Louise Patrick Hill (Hotelier) from Crayfish River, Ralph John, (Unemployed) from St. Cyr, Jenner Lucier (Farmer) from Crayfish River, Debra B. Thomas (N.E.P Supervisor) from Gaulette River, Gabriel Thomas (Unemployed) from Crayfish River, Hilarian Valmond (Fisherman) from Concord, Marion Valmond (Self Employed) from Salybia and Janet A. William (Mentor) from Bataca.

The elections are scheduled for Wednesday, August 14th 2019.

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of DominicaNewsOnline.com/Duravision Inc. All comments are approved by DominicaNewsOnline.com before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • are abusive, profane or offensive
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-message

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.


  1. Please read properly
    August 9, 2019

    This is A DIFFERENT election… This one is for the council members…. The last was for the Chief.

  2. JD
    August 9, 2019

    Geez, the nomination took place over two weeks ago.

    Why is now DNO publishing this old news? my gosh.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available