First Caribbean Int’l Bank local manager is Rotary Club’s new president

Outgoing President Monsignor Reginald Lafleur pinning President Rotarian Paul Frampton.

The Rotary Club of Dominica held its Annual Investiture Dinner at the Evergreen Hotel under the patronage of the President of Dominica, His Excellency Dr Nicholas J O Liverpool, and Mrs Liverpool on Saturday, July 10, 2010.

The occasion saw the handing over of the mantle to lead the club from outgoing president Monsignor Reginald Lafleur to the newly elected President Rotarian Paul Frampton and the pinning of the new Board members who will guide the activities of the Rotary Club of Dominica which is part of Rotary International over the next year. Incoming President Paul thanked his fellow club members for the confidence reposed in him by electing him to the esteemed office of club president.

The new president went on to indicate that as Rotarians, members should all be proud that after thirty six years, the club is alive and well in Dominica and adhering to the objects of rotary which promotes among other things, service to others and high ethical standards in business and professions. He also emphasized the fact that every Rotarian should be guided by the Rotary Four Way Test which reads as follows:-

Of the things we think, say and do

  1. Is it the truth?
  2. Is it fair to all concerned?
  3. Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
  4. Will it be beneficial to all concerned?

The newly elected president continued to appeal to the members of the club that Service should be the first value of every Rotarian as reflected in the primary motto, “Service Above Self”. He stated that “as a club we have the potential to create better communities, safer and healthier communities, one project at a time”.

This investiture also came at a time when the Rotary club of Dominica in collaboration with the Rotary clubs of Conyers Rotary Club of Georgia, Rocksdale Rotary Club of Georgia and North River Rotary Club of Tennessee were preparing to hand over to the community of Mero, a newly built Waste Water Facility to aid in the development and enhancement of the Mero Community and the enhancement of the beach facilities thus contributing to the development of the tourism product there.

This facility will assist the Mero Enhancment Committee and the people of Mero to better manage and control effluent discharge and waste and grey water thus ensuring a safer and cleaner environment.

President Paul reconfirmed the Rotary Club of Dominica continued support to the Rotary Foundation in its bid to eradicate polio worldwide and in keeping with this year’s theme for Rotary International “Building Communities, Bridging Continents”.

Other members of the newly elected Rotary Board are:

  • Immediate Past President Monsignor Reginald Lafleur
  • President Elect Marvlyn Birmingham
  • Vice President Grayson Stedman Sr.
  • Secretary Grayson J. Stedman jr.
  • Treasurer Haynes Jacob
  • Sergeant-At-Arms Dan Hopkins

The current membership of the club consists of 27 made up of 20 male and seven female.

Outgoing President Monsignor Reginald Lafleur pinning President Rotarian Paul Frampton

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of Inc. All comments are approved by before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-topic

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available