Independence Athletics Championship kicks off on Wednesday

The Sports Division in the Ministry of Youth Affairs, Sports and Constituency Empowerment will on Wednesday, 10th and Friday, 12th October, 2018 host the 37th Annual Secondary Schools Independence Athletics Championship.

The event is held annually as part of Dominica’s celebration of its independence.

This year’s event will be held at the Benjamin’s Park in Portsmouth.

Day one (1) will feature the opening ceremony which will have addresses from the sports coordinator, Trevor Shillingford, the mayor of the town of Portsmouth, his Worship Titus Francis, the Parliamentary Representative for Portsmouth, Ian Douglas, and Justina Charles, Minister for Youth Affairs, Sports and Constituency Empowerment.

The activities begin at 9:30 a.m. on both days.

Fourteen (14) schools are expected to participate in this year’s championship.

The Dominica Grammar School won both the boys and girls categories in 2016.

The 2017 championship was called off due to the passage of Hurricane Maria.

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of Inc. All comments are approved by before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-topic

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available