Sports Division holds annual sports awards

The Ministry of Culture, Youth Affairs and Sports, through the Sports Division held what, from all reports, was considered a successful 5th Annual Sports Awards on Wednesday April 27, 2011 at the Fort Young Hotel.

The Ceremony was held under the Patronage of His Excellency the President Mr. Nicholas J.O. Liverpool and Mrs. Liverpool. The Hon. Gloria Shillingford represented the Prime Minister and the Hon. Ambrose George represented the Minister of Sports. A large number of sports enthusiasts, officials and dignitaries were in attendance at the Marquis Hall, which was packed to capacity.

After the inspiring opening remarks of the Sports Coordinator which highlighted some of the key sporting events of 2010, presentation of MVP awards formed Part I of the ceremony as follows:

Erison Hurtault – Athletics (Male)
Shanica Shanice Yankey- Athletics (Female)
Garth Joseph – Basketball (Male)
Curnia John – Basketball (Female)
Dr. Dorian Shillingford – Bridge
Lennon Bannis – Boxing
Shane Shillingford – Cricket (Male)
Pearl Ettienne  – Cricket (Female)
Carlyn Xavier  – Domino
Kurlson Benjamin – Football (Male)
Christina Sobers – Football (Female)
Curnia John – Netball
Victoria Burton – Rounders
Dane Taylor – Table Tennis (Male)
Gem Eloi   – Table Tennis (Female)
Ronald Bruno – Volleyball (Male)
Marcia Gustave – Volleyball (Female)


After a guest performance by Q95 Talent Search winner -Mr. Asher Thomas, Part II saw other awards presented as follows:

–    Special Olympics Athlete of the Year – Brenna Charles
–    Sporting Village of the Year – Lagoon, Portsmouth
–    PE/Sports Teacher of The year (Prim. Schls) – Lennox Walsh, St. Mary’s Primary
–    PE/Sports Teacher of the Year (Sec Schls) – Smith Telemacque – North East Comprehensive School
–    Primary School of the Year in Sports – W. S. Stevens
–    Secondary School of the Year in Sports – North East Comprehensive School
–    Sports Commentator of the Year – Ossie Lewis
–    Sports Reporter of the Year – Brian Francis (D.B.S Radio)
–    Official (Referee/Umpire) of the Year  – Carlisle Jno Baptiste
–    Groundsman of the Year – Isaac Andre
–    Club of the Year – Wesmar Rangers Athletics Club
–    Sports Committee of the Year – Pointe Michel
–    Coach of the Year – Godwin Dorsette
–    Association of the Year – Dominica Football Association
–    Female Youth Athlete of the Year- Shanica Shanice Yankey
–    Male Youth Athlete of the Year – Kavem Hodge

Soca Queen and Domino’s MVP Carlyn Xavier backed by her band Fanatik provided a high quality performance for the second intermission before the presentation of the Sportswoman of the year award to Shanica Shanice Yankey and Sportsman of the year award to Shane Shillingford.

They both received cash awards of EC$1000.00 from the Government of Dominica, BlackBerry Phones from LIME and gift baskets from Springfield Trading.  They also received gift certificates from the Fort Young Hotel redeemable for one night at the hotel for two persons.

Hon. Ambrose George gave the feature address and the Vote of Thanks was done by           Mr. Thomas Dorsett, President of the Dominica Lawn Tennis Association and Secretary of the Dominica Olympic Committee.

The Awards Ceremony was followed by cocktails with live music was provided by the ever popular Fanatik Band, who provided entertainment to the large number of enthusiastic invited guests and sportspersons.  This created the right festive atmosphere, which was befitting the celebration of the sterling contributions of our sports personalities and organizations in 2010.

The Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports through the Sports Division wishes to thank all for the support given towards the hosting of the event and extends best wishes to all sports personalities and further looks forward to an increase in participation in 2011.

Copyright 2012 Dominica News Online, DURAVISION INC. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of Inc. All comments are approved by before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-topic

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.


  1. fearness
    June 28, 2011

    There must have been some biasness with Basketball in choosing Curnia John best female basketballer of the year. What happen to Sunshine Dalize Paul? Please I would like to know what is the accomplishment which made Miss John capture this tittle.

  2. hmm
    May 5, 2011

    No photos?
    Had it been youths invovled in some criminal activies there would have been photos all over the place.Lets highlight the positives as we do the negatives.

  3. Nice
    May 5, 2011

    Put the pics D.N.O…let’s see faces

  4. Taberi
    May 5, 2011

    Congratulations to all the athletes. Special congratulations to Gem K.D. Eloi. You are making your family and La Plaine proud.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available