Fifteen outstanding Dominicans were honored today with national awards as the island celebrates another independence anniversary, which opened with the traditional uniformed group parade at the Windsor Park Stadium.

Those honored include Curtis R.T. Tonge who received a Sisserou Award for his contribution to business in Dominica, and Edward Lambert for his contribution to public service and consultancy.


The Meritorious Service Award went to six individuals, including Henry Volney and Celia Nicholas – for their role in education; Anthony Cuffy – agriculture; Reuben Luke – business; Evander Joseph – community service; and Valentine Johnson for her involvement in the development of education.

Beatrice Green, Villeneuve E. St. Ville and Merlyn Jno. Baptiste took the Services Medal of Honor awards for education. Awards in the same category were also awarded to Thaddeus Ferrol for commitment to community service and Carlton Peters for business.

Long Service Award medals were handed down to Jones Lawrence for the Fire and Ambulance Service and Patricia Shillingford in the field of education.

President Liverpool presented the awards.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit addressed Dominicans present on the grounds and those tuned in via live broadcast reminding them of the importance of nationhood and patriotism.

He spoke of the advancements made in the areas of infrastructural development, aviation, education, and the cost and standard of living for Dominicans.

Today’s event followed the traditional pattern with a parade inspection by the president, a march pass in slow and quick time by members of the police force, fire department, prison service, cadet corps, scouts and band troupe and the presidential salute.

[nggallery id=60]