Tasha P sings following her victory in the calypso finals in the wee hours of Sunday morning. * Photo credit: Tony John Photography

Tasha ‘Tasha P” Peltier has created history by becoming the first female to win the Calypso Monarch title – in 54 years.

The Swinging Stars front-line singer also become the first calypso artiste to win three titles in one season. She captured the Calypso Queen and Stardom Monarch of the Tent titles earlier this season.

And now she is playing the dual role of ‘King and Queen’ of Dominican calypso.

The results were announced at around 2:30 a.m. at Carnival City in Pottersville, Roseau.

Tasha P’s songs “It’s Woman Time” and “Let Children Be Children” were written by Ian Jackson and Gina Letang, respectively.

Four-time Calypso Monarch Dice placed second after a return to competition; defending champion Karessah placed third and Checker copped fourth place.

Soul Puss received the most improved calypsonian award.

The other participants in the final were Explosion, Leandra, Lord Lugar, Peter Prosper and Sye.

Lord Lugas and Peter Prosper were competing in the finals for the first time.