Marvlyn Birmingham

Rotarians in Dominica have agreed that Marvlyn Birmingham will continue on as president of the Rotary Club of Dominica for yet another year.

This will be her second consecutive year as president of the popular service club.

Birmingham at the club’s annual investiture ceremony highlighted some of the club’s achievements during the last Rotary year.

According to her the club received two major awards: the Rotary District 7030 “Continuity Award” and the Rotary International “ChangeMaker” award for making a positive and significant change in the community.

The Rotary Club of Dominica was one out of six clubs which received this award.

Birmingham encouraged the Dominican public to join the club on their mission of “Peace through Service” and thanked all the Rotarians who “worked tirelessly” to help the club achieve its goals.

She also welcomed Annette Lestrade as the newest member of the club.

The club also boasted of establishing a new branch in Portsmouth and the first Interact club in the St. Martin’s Secondary School.

Justice Birnie Stephenson-Brookes who was the featured speaker at the event congratulated the new board and gave them her blessings for the new Rotary year.

She challenged the members to prioritize the needs of the society over their own personal needs, and encouraged them to embrace the new Rotary theme “Peace through service”.

Other members of the 2012-2013 board are:

Vice President- Past president Marie Jose Edwards
Secretary- Reginald La Fleur
President Elect- Robert Tongue
Sergeant at Arms- Reggie Burke
The head of the various committees:
Projects committee – Annie Edwards
New generations committee – Nigel Shillingford
Rotary foundation committee – Paul Frampton
Membership committee – Vincent Titre
Public Relations Committee – Cecil Shillingford