BPW awards thirty outstanding Dominican women

BPW awardees, photo credit: BPW Dominica Facebook

Thirty Dominica Women were recognized by the Business and Professional Women (BPW) for their hard work and dedication during its second annual awards ceremony.

The ceremony took place at My Mother’s House, the former Evergreen Hotel on March 10.

President of the BPW Rhoda St John said every year the organization recognizes 20 local women and 10 Dominican women living either in the region or on the international field.

“Last year we did our first annual salute to women where we honoured 30 women and this year, we are doing our second where we are honouring another 30 women,” she said during an interview with State-owned Radio DBS. “Next year we already have the 30 women assigned for 2025.”

She continued, “They have already been written to and accepted, so we are planning for 2025.”

St John believes that women should be honoured and appreciated for their hard work.

“Many times we overlook the women who do well, we overlook women who have laboured in the vineyard, we overlook women who have served our communities, served our country, served their homes, served their families,” she stated. “We have women who have been dedicating their time, their money, their effort and nobody says thank you.”

She added, “So, we just saw it as a way of saying thank you to these women.”

BPW Dominica is a chapter of the BPW International Federation of Business and Professional Women which was founded by Dr. Lena Madesin Phillips in 1930 (91 years ago).

On November 16, 2016, BPW Dominica was born and today the organization boasts a diverse mix of over 50 women, who, according to the group, stand committed to empowering women and young girls in Dominica.

BPW’s members include influential women leaders, entrepreneurs, business owners, executive professionals, young business professionals, and other professional women in over 100 countries, on five continents. The organization also has consultative status at ECOSOC/United Nations.

The list of women who were awarded is attached below:

Adina Bellot Valentine, Public Relations Officer

Ernie Charles-Harris, Macrame Artist

Jo-anne Prince, Social Worker Special Educator

Annette Bates, Retired Nurse

Jamie Alleyne, Entrepreneur

Saraya Elwin Simon, Educator & Principal

Avlyn Alexis, Business Owner

Claire Joseph, Business Owner

Deirdre LaBassiere, Director/ Entrepreneur Leadership Consultant

Diane Blanford-Williams, Credit & Business Development Associate NBD

Lizra Fabien, Project Manager Consultant

Dr Anthea Burton-Elwin, RN. BSN. MSN. PHD

Donna Lewis Phillips, Accounting Officer Project Management Unit DOWASCO

Daryl Aaron, General Manager Bay Garden Resort

Dr. Simone Mathiere, Associate Professor of Psychology & Media Producer

Dr. Nadia Wallace MD, DM Psychiatry Consultant Psychiatrist

Dr. Genora Joseph, Civil & Environmental Engineer

Irma Sharon Vidal, Business Owner Youth Advocate

Jennifer Nanton, Sports Educator

Jo-anne Durand, Teacher Educator

Vanya David, Executive Officer & President DNCW

Lucy Belle-Matthew, Justice of Peace Councillor Roseau City Council

Marva Williams, Marketing Manager

Maxine Alleyne-Esprit, Communications Officer IOM-UN

Sandra Frampton, Business Owner/ Florist

Monique Jacob, Marketing Specialist Independent Marketing Consultant

Olivia Maurice, Ferriera Entrepreneur

Rhona Riley, Executive Secretary Cabinet Secretary

Sonia Williams, Retired UNESCO General Secretariat

Veronne Nicholas, Software Developer IT Manager

Copyright 2012 Dominica News Online, DURAVISION INC. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Disclaimer: The comments posted do not necessarily reflect the views of DominicaNewsOnline.com and its parent company or any individual staff member. All comments are posted subject to approval by DominicaNewsOnline.com. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • contain any material which violates or infringes the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or are purely ad hominem attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote prejudice or prejudicial hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are off-topic and/or excessively long

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.

1 Comment

  1. Iamanidiot
    March 12, 2024

    Here we go again, when last 30 outstanding dominican men was singled out for an award? It doesnt happen, Look a young girl win queen and shes gonna be sent for a full scholarship ride. What about the young men, everywhere I turn is “empower women”. I’m all for that but women is already empowered, i’ll say it again. You gonna have all these highly educated women in a society…but where’s the equal in stature men for them? A large majority of those men sitting on the block cause they not being assisted or helped or pushed or given chances. Everything is women women women. Keep it up.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available