Golden Drum Awardees 2016 announced

The Golden Drum Award was instituted in 1982
The Golden Drum Award was instituted in 1982

The National Cultural Council and the Division of Culture are pleased to announce the recipients of the Golden Drum Award and Special Recognition Award for 2016.

Five persons are to receive the Golden Drum Award. They are Mr. Stephen Drigo, for Development and Promotion of Traditional Music; Ms. Pearle Christian for Excellence in Music Education and Promotion of Choral Music; Mrs. Catherine Miranda Langlais for Preservation & Promotion of Indigenous Culture; Mr. Levi “Super L” Loblack for Excellence in Music and Mrs. Regina Walsh for Promotion of Pageantry.

The Special Recognition Awardees are Mr. Craig Bellot for promotion of Music; Mr. Hilroy Fingal for Excellence in Art; Mr. Ivon George for Development and Promotion of Traditional Dance; Mr. Carlton Henry for promotion of Traditional Culture and Pageantry; the Performing Arts Workshop for promotion and development of Dance and Pageantry and the St. Alphonsus Junior Choir for excellence in Choral Music.

The Golden Drum Award is issued to individuals, groups or institutions that have made outstanding contributions to the development of art and culture spanning at least twenty years. The Golden Drum is Dominica’s top cultural award. Between three and five awards are issued annually.

The Golden Drum Award was instituted in 1982.

The Special Recognition Award is issued to those who have made special contributions in culture over a period of time generally between ten and twenty years and to those who have achieved notable successes in a particular field of arts and culture. This award serves as recognition of their efforts and motivates them to continue contributing to the development of culture.

This year’s award winners will receive their awards at the Golden Drum Award Ceremony scheduled to take place at the Arawak House of Culture on Saturday July 30, 2016 at 8.00 p.m. under the patronage of His Excellency the President Charles Savarin. The Ceremony is a red carpet event and will feature performances by award winners and other local artistes.

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of Inc. All comments are approved by before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-topic

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.


  1. October 8, 2016

    its very nice 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)

  2. an
    July 30, 2016

    aunty p!!!!

    great awardees this year
    Accolades while alive.
    Well done

  3. Odin
    July 29, 2016

    Congrats Super L !!!

    You well deserve this award.

  4. A FAN!
    July 29, 2016

    Congrats to all the winners. Special shout out to Levi “Super L” Loblack!

  5. nonamegal
    July 29, 2016

    Well deserved nominees. Big up to Carlton Henry!!

    July 29, 2016

    Very interesting and congratulation to ALL… the way DNO, just straying a little; Do you have any pics of that 1000 man march which took place 7/28/16 you can post for the public to see?

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available