Fourteen finalists for NCCU Cadence Lypso Competition

One of the performers at last year's competition
One of the performers at last year’s competition

Fourteen finalists have been selected for the 3rd annual NCCU Cadence Lypso competition, scheduled for Saturday 18th October, where they will take on the challenge of dethroning reigning champion Cletus ‘Halibut’ Abraham.

The finalists were selected from the  31 entrants who took part in the elimination round, on Saturday, 30 August at the Harlem Plaza. Each performer sang two verses and two choruses and was judged on the lyrics and melody of their shortened compositions.

This is the first time in the competition’s history that there is an elimination round.

“We wanted the selection process to be more transparent,” says NCCU representative Marcel Harrigan. “Normally we have a panel that would listen to the audio submitted and then make a selection; but this year we wanted the Dominican public included so they could witness the process themselves.”

Returning performers include last year’s runner-up Shirley Charles, with her song “No More Division” and 2nd runner up Webster De Web Marie, who will sing “Sai Kai”.

New faces include Miriam Gerwig who impressed the ‘Harlem’ crowd with both her rendition of “Kochonni” and her guitar playing ability. Other new competitors include calypsonian Vigilante and Ian Jackson better-known for his talents behind the scene, namely as a journalist and calypso songwriter.

The NCCU Cadence Lypso show starts at 8:30 PM on October 18th. Tickets cost $50.00 in advance, $60 at the gate and VIP is $125.00. Tickets can be purchased at all Branches of the National Cooperative Credit Union Ltd.

See NCCU Cadence Lypso Finalists below:

ArtistStage NameSong
John MarkMauzzersVengeance
Cyril HendersonDe ElfPlante Pou Wekolte
Colette AmboColette AmboZanfan Se Pa Woch
Steve WilliamsTriumphMennen Vini, Pote Ale
Emmanuel SalamatDaddy HaxeyKite Mwen An Pe
Webster MarieDe WebbSai Kai
Miriam GerwigMiriamKochonni
Algernon DucreayIrationPawol Gwan Manman
Ramadine PhillipKalfa PManman Soutiwe
Ellis SerantEllis SerantWimesye Bondye
Shirley CharlesLady SNo More Division
Ian JacksonJackoCry Africa
Anton JosephWhite FayriePa Kite Mwen
Raymond VigilantVigilanteWimed


Copyright 2012 Dominica News Online, DURAVISION INC. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of Inc. All comments are approved by before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-topic

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.


  1. the boy
    September 3, 2014

    Cletus ‘Halibut’ Abraham Mahaut will be there in full force

  2. the boy
    September 3, 2014

    Cletus ‘Halibut’ Abraham all the way

  3. Anonymous
    September 3, 2014

    I thought that 15 finalists were to be chosen

  4. September 2, 2014

    Competition in order.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available