Miss Carival show comes off tonight

Miss Carival contestants

Grenada, the country that last year won the Miss Carival Pageant in the form of Asheida Charles, will not defend the crown when the show comes off tonight at Carnival City Victoria Park.

Recently renamed, the First Citizens Group Miss Carival 2010 Beauty Pageant, the event will therefore see ladies from nine other countries come up against local beauty Miss St. Vincent and the Grenadines 2010 Aphiesha Matthews for the coveted crown.

Head of the Beauty Shows Committee Cheryl Rodriguez, speaking at a press event last Tuesday at Young Island Resorts said that the 2010 Miss Carival show is going to be, “one of the best ever”.

A few new innovations have been added to the event. The show, first held in 1985 will this year begin with the singing of the national anthem by songstress Kahelia Beache. The show will have as Masters of Ceremonies Bernard John and Shevrelle ‘Candy Man’ McMillan, also known as Contestant Number 12. On the night of the show, the Potential Steel Orchestra will be honored (30th anniversary) while Minister of Culture Rene Baptiste will also be honored for her years of service to the Beauty Shows Committee. The show will also see performances from, La Garcia Dancers, Calypsonian Bridgette Joy C Creese, the 2010 Ragga Soca King and panists Rajon Baptiste and Saed Bowman.  Other acts include Cornelius Poorsah Williams and reigning Soca Monarch Skinny Fabulous.

Seven of the Miss Carival contestants arrived via LIAT last Monday June 28th and will leave on Saturday July 3rd. Rodriguez said that the Miss Carival pageant has met and surpassed its objectives which are, “participation from Caribbean countries gained at fostering greater links and bonds between many islands, encouraging persons to return here and showcasing the beauty and diversity of Caribbean women”. Six Vincentians have won Miss Carival while the reigning queen hails from Grenada in the form of Asheida Charles. The winner of this year’s pageant will get among other things US$4300. Second place gets US$1300 and third receives US$700.

The names of the ladies from the nine countries which are expected to compete against Matthews are, Miss Anguilla – Sangrena Harris, Miss Antigua & Barbuda – Shelana George, Miss British Virgin Islands – Jasmine Perez, Miss Dominica – Marcia Baptiste, Miss Martinique – Joane Daniele Lirus, Miss St Kitts & Nevis – Sudeakka Francis, Miss St Lucia – Iva Satney, Miss Trinidad & Tobago – Keda Lou-Ann Pascal and Miss Venezuela- Lucia Di Matteo Cacua.

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of DominicaNewsOnline.com/Duravision Inc. All comments are approved by DominicaNewsOnline.com before they are posted. We never censor based on political or ideological points of view, but we do try to maintain a sensible balance between free speech and responsible moderating.

We will delete comments that:

  • violate or infringe the rights of any person, are defamatory or harassing or include personal attacks
  • a reasonable person would consider abusive or profane
  • contain material which violates or encourages others to violate any applicable law
  • promote hatred of any kind
  • refer to people arrested or charged with a crime as though they had been found guilty
  • contain links to "chain letters", pornographic or obscene movies or graphic images
  • are excessively long and off-topic

See our full comment/user policy/agreement.


  1. October 26, 2011

    :wink: looking good!

  2. strawberry
    July 2, 2010

    looking forward in you bringing the crown to Dominica

  3. Irvin
    July 2, 2010

    All the best to Miss Dominica Marcia Baptiste. By the time you read this, this will be your third title. I have every confidence you will perform your best and do Dominica proud.

  4. Vex with them
    July 2, 2010

    All the best Marcia and go get the crown. We know you can do it.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »

 characters available